Podcast FAQ

how do you make money doing a podcast

by Dr. Miles Jacobi Published 2 years ago Updated 1 year ago
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How Do Podcasts Make Money?

  1. Sponsorships. Sponsorships are the most common way podcasters make money. This is when the podcast promotes the...
  2. Direct support including premium content. Direct support is when you simply ask your fans to send you money to...
  3. Affiliate sales. Affiliate sales are similar to sponsorships, but instead of getting paid by the download,...

Sponsorships are the most common way podcasters make money. This is when the podcast promotes the sponsor during the show. You probably hear your favorite shows plug their advertisers a few times in every episode. How much you earn from a sponsor depends on the number of downloads your episodes earn.

Full Answer

How can you monetize your podcast?

Ways to Monetize a Podcast

  1. Traditional Advertising and Sponsorships. This is by far the easiest method of monetizing a podcast because it requires minimal effort on your part.
  2. Join an advertising network. If you feel daunted by the idea of finding your own sponsor for your podcast, then you might prefer the idea of enlisting the services ...
  3. Sell Subscriptions To Your Podcast. ...

More items...

How to make more money from your channel or podcast?

Course Summary

  • 38 in-depth lessons
  • 36 video tutorials
  • 2 text guides
  • 2 action-prompting tasks
  • 47.35 minutes of video tutorials

How to monetize your podcast?

How to Monetize a podcast

  • CPM. Here’s the good news. According to the Internet Advertising Bureau, the podcasting industry experienced a 19% increase in advertising revenue in 2020.
  • Affiliates. You’ve got to start somewhere. The advice that I’ve heard most often is to start with affiliate marketing.
  • Ask. It always pays to ask. ...

Can you really make money podcasting?

Yet, despite what many claim, it's absolutely possible to make money with a podcast. Plenty of show-runners are making a living doing that, right now. Others are happy to bring in enough to cover their hosting costs, or pay for a takeaway every few weeks.

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How much money can you make from a podcast?

As an estimate, if your podcast has about 10,000 downloads per episode, you can expect to make between $500 – $900 per episode in affiliate sales.

How many views do you need to make money on a podcast?

You usually need a larger audience of at least 5K or 10K listeners per month to work with them. One of the largest ad networks is Midroll, another popular network is Authentic, and many of the podcast hosting companies have their own networks as well.

How do you get paid for doing a podcast?

Podcast hosts can earn money through affiliate marketing, donations and selling their own merchandise. Many or all of the products featured here are from our partners who compensate us. This may influence which products we write about and where and how the product appears on a page.

Can you make a living off a podcast?

So is it even possible for new podcasts to make money? The answer is yes. By setting up a few automated revenue streams, new podcasters can accrue passive income that grows alongside their audience, giving them time back to focus on podcasting.

Does Spotify pay you for podcasts?

The short answer is: No. Spotify does not pay for podcasts, but fret not! We have good news for you: There are many ways to monetize a Spotify podcast. You can make money on your podcasts through sponsorships, affiliate programs, ads, coaching, and more.

How much does it cost to start a podcast?

In fact, if you already have a computer and you're operating on a shoestring budget, you can record, edit, and launch a podcast for less than $200. On the other hand, if you want to use higher-end equipment, starting a podcast can cost a few thousand dollars.

Do podcasts pay their guests?

Typically, podcasts do not pay their guests. Their “Payment” comes from exposure to the audience as well as highlights to their services, e-books, products, etc. Even if a podcast is small now, there is an assumption by host and guests that the show will grow, and the exposure will increase.

How hard is it to start a podcast?

Starting a podcast isn't difficult, but there are a number of steps you'll need to go through in order to get it launched. In this podcasting tutorial, we'll walk you through every step of the process: Choosing a topic & name. Show and episode format.

How much do podcasters make per podcast?

Rates range from $18 to $50 CPM, though hugely popular podcasts can pull in a lot more. You can price your ads differently depending on where you place them within your episode. Pre-roll ads run at the beginning of the show, usually for about 15-30 seconds.

How much do podcasters make a year?

Income from Popular Podcasts The Dave Ramsey Show has 13 million weekly listeners and earns nearly $10 million in annual income. Shepard Armchair Expert earns $9 million a year with almost 20 million monthly listeners. The Bill Simmons Podcast earns $7 million yearly income. Chapo Trap House makes $2 million each year.

How much do podcasters make from ads?

Podcast ads are sold according to a CPM (cost per mile, in other words cost per thousand impressions) model. For example, if you agree to an $18 CPM for a 30-second ad which is the industry average, the advertiser will pay $18 for every 1,000 ad listens. For a 60-second ad, the average CPM is $25.

How much does Joe Rogan make from his podcast?

According to Forbes, Joe Rogan podcast income was $30m in 2019. And that's not counting YouTube revenue which also contributes to the amount. In spring 2019, Rogan mentioned in one of the interviews that his show records over 190 million monthly downloads.

How to sell podcast ads?

There’s a lot of nuance to this, but you can sell ads on your podcast in three main ways: 1 Direct to brand: If you represent a podcast that meets a brand’s audience and demographic thresholds, you can sell ads on your show via preroll, midroll, or postroll advertisements directly to the brand based on a cost determined by both parties, which is usually represented on a CPM (cost per 1,000 downloads) model. These ads are usually product endorsements, direct response, and host-read. 2 Through an agency: Podcast advertising agencies operate either as an intermediary or broker for the brand, or as a marketplace. For example, agencies like Veritone One , Ad Results, or Havas Edge represent clients like LinkedIn , Noemie, and Embark. These agencies will vet the podcast and associated talent, and will plan a large, cohesive campaign on behalf of their clients. They have a very particular and specific way of purchasing ads, and usually plan quarterly. There are also podcast marketplaces such as Advertisecast that allow podcasters to list their shows and inventory for brands to browse and select. 3 Programmatic: One of the fastest growing segments in the podcast advertising marketplace is programmatic advertising, which you may recognize as non host-read ads that appear in podcasts. Brands will usually purchase programmatic space using audience demographics as opposed to selecting specific shows and genres. Some of the players in this field include Megaphone’s Targeted Marketplace , Art19, and Acast.

Is there a subscription for podcasts?

Subscriptions: Podcast subscriptions have sprung up in a few different forms in recent years, but are by no means new. It’s a simple enough concept – if you put your podcast behind a paywall, you’re typically transitioning from a free, ad-supported podcast to a subscription based service.

What are some of the most popular podcast topics?

Some of the most common and popular podcast topics include: True Crime. Comedy. News. Current Affairs and Politic s. Commentary on Shows and Movies.

How much will podcasts make in 2024?

Advertising revenue for podcasts is expected to surpass $1.6 billion in 2024. There’s no lack of ways to make money doing podcasts. Various ways include affiliate marketing, sponsorship, ad placements, merchandise, eBooks, online courses, membership, and premium content.

Why do people want to buy merchandise with their podcast logo?

Your fans will want to purchase merchandise with your podcast’s logo because they’ve fallen for your podcast. Merchandising usually works best for the podcasts that’re able to build a community out of their listener base.

What is the branding of a podcast?

Branding is about creating your podcast style, visual style, cover art, tagline, logo, and intro/outro to add that professional feel to your podcasts.

Why do people listen to podcasts?

People can listen to podcasts while they are driving, exercising, or doing other tasks because all you need are your ears to engage. YouTube and Netflix require both ears and eyes to be attentive. Twitter, Facebook, and blogs all require eyes to read tweets, posts, and articles.

How to tell a story in a story?

Follow a structure and format to tell the story your way, make it your style. Be sure to communicate your message clearly. Follow the rules of effective communication. Whatever the topic is, take your time to introduce it to the audience, so that they understand it before moving into details.

Can podcasts make money?

Many podcasters are generating money through podcasts and making a living even. This is the age of monetization where if you have enough of a following, then you can monetize virtually anything. The rise of online platforms has allowed companies and individuals to monetize basically anything that they can do.

What is the best thing about advertising networks?

The best thing about advertising networks is that you have the opportunity to grow. When you first start out, you'll have little control over rates, but, as you gain popularity, you'll be able to charge more for advertising slots. Crowdfunding.

Is affiliate marketing good for podcasts?

The same goes for unique discount codes that people can use at checkout. All things considered, affiliate marketing is a great way to keep the money trickling in with minimal additional work.

What to do if you haven't started a podcast?

If you have not started a podcast yet, choose a topic that has the potential of attracting a large listener base. You can do a quick search in an iTunes library to see if there is a demand for a topic you would choose for your podcast. If there is a demand for that niche, aim to create the best possible content for it.

How much does Joe Rogan make?

Joe Rogan hosts an entertaining podcast that discusses trending topics and interviews public figures of interest. He is estimated to make about $30,000 per episode. With about 5 episodes per week produced, his estimated monthly podcast income is $600,000.

Is podcasting equipment expensive?

If there are few search results, there isn’t much demand – so you have little chance of growing to a point of earning an impressive income. Podcasting equipment can be costly. Not everyone has the ability to invest into podcasting equipment.

Who is Roberto Pacinelli?

Roberto Pacinelli is the VP of The Best Media and Senior Digital Marketing Strategist with a career in digital marketing spanning over 19 years. Roberto and The Best Media have helped thousands of small, medium and large businesses succeed online across Canada, USA and the world with many business owners recognizing Roberto and his team as their Key to Success in helping their businesses earn millions of dollars as a result. Call Roberto Pacinelli at 416 253 0934 or email him at [email protected].

How much did podcast ads cost in 2018?

Ever listened to a show that took a quick break to run an ad? There’s a good reason. According to the Interactive Advertising Bureau, marketers spent $479 million on podcast ads in 2018.

How much money did Joe Rogan make from his podcast?

According to Forbes, the stand-up comic earned $30 million from his show in 2019. But this wasn’t an overnight success story.

Why do advertisers like to air spots on podcasts?

Sponsors and advertisers love to air spots on podcasts because they usually have highly engaged audiences. More than half of podcast audiences listen to a full episode of a show—and 41% of listeners will play through most of an episode. This means the majority of listeners will actually listen to an ad!

Why is affiliate marketing important for podcasts?

Affiliate marketing is a smart place to start for new podcasters because you don’t have to pitch anyone or set up deals with a sponsor. You just have to sign up with a company who runs a program.

How many affiliate offers does Jenna have?

Jenna only shares five affiliate offers with her audience over the course of a year. They just happen to be products that she loves—that is the key to affiliate marketing. (Just make sure you disclose any affiliate links with your audience. For legal reasons and to make sure you’re building trust with your listeners!)

What do content creators worry about?

Many content creators worry about feeling sales-y or bugging their audience members. We’ve all been there. Don’t worry, if you focus on sharing incredible content with your people, you’ll naturally open the door to recommending your own products.

Do you have to sell on the show?

You don’t have to sell directly on the show . If you’re a service provider, you can offer a free 15-minute consultation where people can book a call with you. Just make sure to set up a special link so that you can track who comes in from your show!

1. Affiliate marketing

Affiliate marketing is a performance-based form of marketing where a business offers rewards to affiliates who are able to successfully bring customers to them. Affiliate marketing is a great way for any creator to monetize their content.

2. Sell custom merchandise to fans

Give your fans the opportunity to show their support for your podcast by selling custom merchandise like t-shirts, stickers, posters, mugs, tote bags, journals, and more.

3. Offer tiered memberships through Patreon

Patreon is a very popular platform for monetizing podcasts because it allows fans (called “patrons”) to offer support in regular monthly payments. Creators can sort subscription options into different “tiers,” with each tier receiving different benefits.

4. Host live podcasts and collect tips

Hosting a live in-person event can be a great way to make extra money as a podcaster, but finding gigs is tricky for new podcasts. Live venues may allow you to perform, but unless your podcast is big enough to bring a lot of business, they’re less likely to pay you to perform.

5. Write and self-publish a book for your fans

Like authors, podcast hosts are typically viewed as being a voice of authority on a particular subject, making the transition from podcast host to writer almost seamless. Perhaps that’s why so many popular podcasts have been spun off into books written by their creators.

6. Join a podcast advertising network

A podcast advertising network is a platform that connects brands and podcasts that have a shared target audience, acting as liaisons for brands looking to advertise to podcast listeners.

Podcasts make money when they have multiple income streams

The most profitable independent podcasts use multiple revenue streams to create a steady flow of income as they focus their attention on growing their audience.

How do podcasters make money?

1. Sponsorships. Sponsorships are the most common way podcasters make money. This is when the podcast promotes the sponsor during the show. You probably hear your favorite shows plug their advertisers a few times in every episode. How much you earn from a sponsor depends on the number of downloads your episodes earn.

Why do podcasts have negative cash flow?

In fact, many podcasts have negative cash flow because they spend money buying equipment and paying hosting fees before they earn a single dollar. Creative work like podcasting doesn’t make any money until people choose to watch you. It takes time for listeners to decide you have value.

Why are mid roll ads more valuable?

Mid-roll ads are more valuable because the audience is captive at the time. Sometimes the sponsor will give you a script to read. Other times the sponsor will give you more flexibility. When you first start pitching advertising, we recommend asking for $15 for pre- and post-roll ads and $20 for mid-roll ads.

How long do preroll ads run?

Pre-roll ads run at the beginning of the show, usually for about 15-30 seconds. Post-roll ads run at the end of the show, also for 15-30 seconds. They are worth the same to advertisers.

What is affiliate sales?

Affiliate sales are similar to sponsorships, but instead of getting paid by the download, you get paid based on what you sell for another company. The other company pays you a commission for each sale. Audible has a popular affiliate program that a lot of podcasters and YouTubers take advantage of.

What is direct support?

Direct support is when you simply ask your fans to send you money to support your show. If your content and personality are good, there are plenty of people who will happily throw you a few dollars so you can keep producing episodes.

Does audible have an affiliate link?

Audible gives you a special affiliate link to promote. When someone uses your link, you get credit for the sale and earn $15. If you monetize with affiliate sales, make sure the company gives you a simple link that’s easy for you to say and your listeners to understand. Good affiliate URL: www.sponsor.com/your-name.

What is private discussion group?

Private Discussion Groups provide access to you as an expert in your field but also to other people involved in whatever you are podcasting about. It will deliver value to people through:

What happens when you record a podcast?

When recording a podcast for a long time, ultimately, you will become a proficient speaker. Leverage those skills and become a professional speaker that gets invited to host conferences and events.

Why is publishing a book important?

Publishing a book is a great way to build a brand and earn money. Publishing and printing are easy, fast, and affordable nowadays. Books are a great category of products to sell as they have high rankings on Amazon, and people actually make purchases based on those ranking.

What is Fulfilled by Amazon?

Fulfilled by Amazon model is where you send a stock of your products to Amazon and let them take care of the whole delivery process. It will be enough for you to advertise a product on your podcast.

Is a podcast a valuable asset?

A podcast can be a very valuable asset. If you structure it correctly and build a community around problems and solutions, you may decide to sell that podcast later to a new owner. This way of monetizing has been extremely popular with blogs and even YouTube channels.

Is podcasting a good way to market your business?

Podcasting is obviously a great way to market your physical business. So why not reverse engineer that model and start with a podcast discussing a range of products and then after gathering following launching a physical store where you can offer your products and services.

Is a podcast a marketing channel?

A podcast can be both a product and a marketing channel. Once you complete your journey of creating a show, having a website, mailing list, monetizing, etc. you should be quite knowledgeable about online marketing and engaging online audiences.

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Affiliate Marketing

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Affiliate marketing or performance marketing is where you get a commission when you refer people to other companies. You will typically earn money when someone makes a purchase. Affiliate marketing works best when you promote products or services that you use or are familiar with, so you can authentically promote them. …
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Courses

  • Many popular podcasters create their own online courses to teach similar content to what they talk about on their podcast. Online coursesare a great way to teach something in an easy-to-follow way where someone can get a specific result once they’ve completed it. It helps to have an email list so you can let your audience know about your course both on your podcast and throug…
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Services

  • You can offer services that tie in with the content on your podcast. I used to analyze and critique online ads on a podcast and the service I offered was Google AdWords and Facebook Ads management. By showing that I knew what I was an expert on the topic, people knew that they would get expert-level ad management. This made it much easier to get clients without having t…
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Coaching & Consulting

  • Coaching & Consulting is somewhat similar to offering a service, but you usually don’t do the work for them. Instead, you help or guide them on how to improve. Common industries that have a lot of consultants and coaches are fitness, diet, business, and teaching, but I’m sure there are consultants in every industry.
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Crowdfunding & Donations

  • You can ask for donations to help support you and your podcast. More entertainment-focused podcasts would be a good fit to monetize in this way. A common platform for accepting donations is Patreon. They make it really easy to offer additional content or bonuses depending on the amount of money people support you with. They even give you the ability to have a separ…
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Premium Content

  • Premium content can really be anything you want, but some of the common ways podcasters offer premium content are with: 1. Additional interviews 2. Behind-the-scenes content 3. Ad-free RSS feed 4. Early-access RSS feed 5. Q&A with the hosts Have fun coming up unique ways to deliver additional value to your community for a few dollars per month. The Daily Wireis a podca…
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Events

  • Hosting events is not only a great way to make money, but bring together your best fans and bring them even more value. One example I heard of from Pat Flynn was the Walker Stalkerconference. It was started by a podcast that talked about The Walking Dead TV show. They do events all over the world and even get the actors involved. That sounds awesome! Another example from Sam …
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Physical Products

  • Physical products are things like t-shirts, mugs, and other swag. The Generation Why Podcast offers a ton of different products, plus premium content, and a very active Patreon page. You can use a site like Teespringto make sure you get enough sales before they get printed – that way you don’t get stuck with a bunch of products.
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Books

  • Leveraging a popular podcast into book sales is another excellent way to make money and increase your authority. You can use your podcast audience to get those initial sales and reviews that will help your book stand out too. Two examples that I’m familiar with (and have purchased) are: 1. Pat Flynn wrote the WSJ bestseller Will It Fly? 2. Chris Ducker recently came out with Ris…
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